top of page

A Lifetime of Sisterhood - the Alumnae Experience


panhellenic

My first exposure to Greek Life came in Fall 1981. A freshman at Indiana University of PA (IUP), I was just getting my footing with living without the parents, signing up for (and then attending) classes, walking a whole block to get a hot meal and learning to do my laundry. In between all that, I was making new friends and learning to live among people with so many different backgrounds and philosophies. It was a very exciting, and often intimidating time.

So, when I saw women in my dorm leaving every night, rushing off to "Rush" (as we called recruitment in the dark ages), I was curious. And then, when bid day arrived, the wave of women who came to collect their newest member, followed by the decorating of their door (in proper colors for their sorority), I was enticed.

I attended rush parties in the spring, but I wasn't quite ready to commit so, in Fall 1982, I went through Formal Rush/Recruitment. There were 17 sororities on my campus at that time: it was a lot of parties, a lot of meeting and a lot of figuring out where I fit in the best. It came down to two - Kappa Delta and Phi Mu. On our campus, they were the girls with whom I found the most common ground. I had to choose, but it was difficult; however, on my preference sheet I listed Phi Mu first. My reason at that time came down to two things: I like pink more than green (the dominant color for the two sororities), and I thought (and still do) that Phi Mu's badge was the prettiest. After all, I was going to be wearing it for a long time.

I've never regretted my choice of sorority, but I wasn't quite as fond of the collegiate sisterhood experience. We lived, studied and, yes, partied, with the same group while we were at college. Like dorm life, we all came from different backgrounds, with different philosophies, and, let's admit it, all women can be petty at times. I took a few hits, gave a few back, and while I had friends in the chapter, after three years I was ready to move on. Upon my graduation I was glad to be leaving the women and some of the difficult experiences behind, but still loved my Phi Mu.

For many sorority women, that would be the end of their story, but for many more, the story continues. After a three year break from sorority interaction, I joined my first alumnae chapter in Fort Lauderdale, FL. I was the young girl in the group, newly married and a new mother in a new town. It was nice to have a connection in a strange town with women that shared a common bond.

I moved back to PA in 1991, and while I continued to support Phi Mu, we had no local chapter. In 1995 I was asked by an area officer if I would be interested in starting a chapter. I said yes, and in October 1995 the Philadelphia-Suburban Alumnae Chapter of Phi Mu was born. While serving as the chapter president, I represented our group and shared many great moments - the chapter was awarded Outstanding Alumnae Chapter in 1998, Honorable Mention for our State Day in 2000 and the first every Outstanding Website Award in 2002. But best of all are the friendships I have with so many wonderful women. Yes, we are all from different backgrounds, with different philosophies, but we don't share homes, and we are able to separate ourselves from petty situations, should we choose to do so. (Although, thankfully, we seem to outgrow as we grow older). I love these women! They have seen me through highs and lows and have been a support all along the way. We became friends because of our sorority connection - we remain friends because they're awesome women!

sisterhood

​As if my alumnae membership with Phi Mu hasn't been rewarding enough, I am now an active member of the Philadelphia Area Alumnae Panhellenic. A wonderful group of women, from different backgrounds, with different philosophies, and different Greek affiliations. But my life is richer for knowing them. They, too, have seen me through highs and lows and I find a great connection to these wonderful and interesting women.

If it weren't for my time in college, I wouldn't be a sorority girl. But I can't imagine my life without the connections I've made by being a part of the greek community. And, it has only gotten better with age. Sorority isn't just 4 years, it's 4ever.

Join your local Alumnae Panhellenic today. I promise you, the journey only gets better.

Sign up for our Blog!

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • b-facebook
  • Twitter Round
Follow Us
bottom of page