top of page

Why I Support #StandUptoHarvard Movement


In recent months there has been a lot of discussion from NPC and each of our individual member organizations about the Stand Up to Harvard Movement. Harvard has imposed a policy that punishes students for simply belonging to a private, single-sex organization. The issue of retaining our rights to remain single-sex organizations has been added to the other important issues faced by sororities and fraternities.

In an article written by the NPC Chairman, Carole J. Jones, we learn more about the ongoing crisis affecting our status as single-sex organizations. I applaud the amazing work that students, alumnae and national organizations are doing to fight for their rights to retain their status as women only groups.

While each of us joined our sorority for different reasons, we have continued with our membership because of the enrichment and value it has provided in our lives. I believe that because of my association with my sorority, I have had the opportunity to grow and learn to be the best woman I can be, in a safe environment. I learned from the sisters that preceded me, and I want to continue to be a source of encouragement for our future sisters.

I believe there is much value in associating with our female peers, and that the fight to remain women-only is one we can’t afford to lose. That is why I stand in support of the Stand Up to Harvard movement, and

. And if you agree, I would encourage you to do the same.

Sign up for our Blog!

Never miss an update

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
  • b-facebook
  • Twitter Round
Follow Us
bottom of page